District 308 Announces Illinois State Scholars

142 students in District 308 received the honor.

142 Oswego Community Unit School District 308 high school students have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars. The students are among 18,863 students from across the state selected by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) for this prestigious award.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top ten percent of the state’s high school seniors from 749 high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year.

“We’re pleased to honor this year’s Illinois State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC executive director. “Not only do they represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois, they also are key to the state’s future economic well-being. The Commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers in District 308 on this achievement.” 

The 2013-14 Oswego East High School Illinois State Scholars are:

Ruba Assaf, Joshua Baedke, Courtney Boeding, Emily Bong, Victoria Borras, Brittany Brewer, Karina Cabrales, Tyler Coonradt, Zachary Cooper, Julianna Depoister, Andrea Esquinca-Angles, Mitchell Fowler, Amanda Freeman, Emma Gillen, Kelly Hauge, Allison Hebert, Layne Hillesland, Sarah Hundley, Austin Hwang, Rena Johnson, Brandon Kalish, Osama Kamal, Sean Kennedy, Cassandra Ko, Nolan Kopplin, Quinton Lee, Nicholas Love, Jorge Luna, Kaitlin Mackey, Sarah Madera, Ashley Madryk, John David Manuel, Alexandra McCarthy, Mia McClintic, Stephanie Meier, Killian Mills, Katherine Moss, Erin Newman, Brandon Nguyen, Amanda Padlo, Megan Perez, Nina Rajcevic, Zahra Rehman, Melina Rodriguez, Katherine Romza, Ricky Ruff, Holly Schwarz, Rebecca Senft, Laura Shambaugh, Michaela Shawl, Abhipsit Srivastava, Shawn Summitt, Rachel Town, Tuan Tran, Bryan Troup, Alexander Twardowski, Adam Van Boekel, Benjamin Weinmann, Jordyn Whiteaker, Rex Wilcoxson, Jack Wilson and Caleb Zatorski.

Students achieving this honor from Oswego High School are:

Alyssa Allen, Nicole Arnold, Anthony Ashner, Alexander Athitakis, Caelee Batterson, Dominique Bauer, Victoria Biniecki, Nicholas Boers, Taylor Boothby, Chad Burdo, Scott Casleton, Alexandria Choi, Stephanie Coates, Joseph Conidi, Kendall Craig, Alissa Cullen, Cameron Dosch, Molly Duncan, Jessica Edwards, Jessica Eloso, Jonah Engel, Kelsey Finlay, Amber Flake, Hunter Funk, Zachary Gardner, Ashley Golembeski, Marissa Gutkowski, Dane Hendrickson, William Hennessy, Tyler Hibben, Kelsey Hjorth, Renee Hrovat, Brandon Hunt, Florent Ilazi, Rachel Johnson, Kayla Kinzel, Abbey Kipper, Kevin Kiser, Connor Kispert, Kayla Larsen, Jake Lewis, Mitchell Lewis, Emily Long, Kathryn Maher, Sierra Mandrelle, Araceli Martinez, Armando Martinez, David Mateyka, Angela Meas, Alan Mlotkowski, Jacob Molina, Paul Nelson, Michael Olson, Olugbenga Osibodu, Pierce Parlier, Michelle Penley, Dominic Pizzo, Boden Pradel, Carissa Ray, Corey Robbins, Melissa Skibinski, Amanda Sommerfeld, Emily Splon, Karyn Stiefbold, Brian Straughn, Emily Thompson, Natalie Thompson, Alex Tkaczyk, Kaitlin Tossing, Torie Trenter, Cora Tu, Nathaniel Vojtik, Michaela Wagner, Andrew Walden, Alexandra Watts, Jazmyn Weaver, Caitlin Witt, Ryan Woods, Francisco Zafra Gomez and Devon Zych.

While the prestigious recognition does not include a monetary award, recipients are encouraged to cite the award on applications for college admission, scholarships and financial aid.

This information was provided by Oswego District 308. 

Check out who made the honor rolls at Oswego's junior high schools!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »